All-Region Football Selections

Handley’s Manno Lusca and Jaishaun Offutt were each named to the First Team on both offense and defense to highlight the All-Region 4D football selections that were released on Monday.
A senior, Lusca was named as a running back and linebacker, while the junior Offutt was named as a lineman on both teams.
The duo was joined on the First Team by their junior teammate Hassan Akanbi (Offensive All-Purpose). Other local First Team selections are Sherando senior offensive lineman Ethan Gonzalez, senior wide receiver Brady Hamilton and senior defensive lineman Jamaal Nowlin, and Millbrook junior running back Kyler Jackson.
Second Team selections are: Handley: Akanbi (running back and kick returner) and senior tight end Breylon Miller; Millbrook: junior offensive lineman Ty Jahnigen, senior defensive lineman Cole Purdy and senior linebacker Fernando Martinez; Sherando: senior kicker Noah Smith, junior linebacker James Walters, junior defensive back Hayden LaFever and junior punter Micah Carlson; James Wood: senior wide receiver Sam Jackson and senior linebacker Zach Smith.
Honorable mention selections are: Handley: Akanbi (punt returner), sophomore offensive lineman Jaiquan Offutt, sophomore defensive lineman Carson Green, senior defensive lineman Logan Vollmers, sophomore linebacker JoJo Johnson and junior defensive back Patrick Burks; Millbrook: Purdy (tight end), senior running back Tyson Mallory, senior Jonah Mihill (offensive All-Purpose), senior linebacker Cohen Creswell and senior defensive back Ryan Hecker; Sherando: Carlson (quarterback), junior offensive lineman Parker Fredman, senior running back Christian Ruiz, junior defensive lineman Kaleb Nowlin and senior defensive back Jake Dann; James Wood: senior center Jack Thompson and junior defensive back Justin Gwinner.
Region champion and Class 4 state finalist Salem swept the three major awards. Senior running back Peyton Lewis is the Offensive Player of the Year, senior linebacker Jaelyn Allen is the Defensive Player of the Year and Don Holter is the Coach of the Year.